The Department of Communications has issued a determination under section 82(3) of the Electronic Communications Act of 2005 (“the ECA”) setting out what is to be regarded as constituting (a) universal access by all areas and communities in South Africa to electronic communications services and electronic communications network services, and (b) universal provision for all people in South Africa of electronic communications services and access to electronic communications network services.

Determination of Universal Access to and Universal Service of Electronic Communications Services and Electronic Communications Network Services (Feb 2010)

The Determination also sets out universal access and universal service targets which be applicable for at least the next two years. It is not clear at this time how these targets will be applied to holders of ECS and ECNS licences.