[5 March 2014]  The National Broadband  Council (NBC) – intended to advise the Minister of Communications on the implementation of the South Africa Connect National Broadband Policy and Strategy, was launched on 4 March 2014. The following have been appointed to sit on the NBC:

  • Dr. Sibusiso Sibisi (chairperson)
  • Prof. Alison Gillwald (deputy chairperson)
  • Prof. Sunil Maharaj,
  • Ms. Mandla Msimang,
  • Mr. Arthur Goldstuck,
  • Dr. Bernie Fanaroff,
  • Mr. Mlamli Booi,
  • Mr. Geoffrey Qhena,
  • Prof. Jyoti Mistry, and
  • Ms. Jesse Maluleke.